Drake Trophy and Mini Skills 2019

Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Drake Trophy 2019 Review

The Drake Trophy recently took place at the Plymouth Life Centre.  It consisted of a two part competition – Mini Skills and South West Regional Skills.

The Mini Skills section was full of Plymouth divers on the podium.  Harry Westbury won the gold medal, Isla Applin the silver and Mila Griffiths the bronze in group F.  In group E, Sophie Eaton earned the gold and Elsie Boylin the bronze. Noah Underwood secured the gold, Hanna Srokosz the silver and Sienna Williams the bronze in group D.  This was the first competition for some of the young 25 Plymouth divers who took part in this event and a great experience for them.

The South West Regional Skills competition is a qualifier in order to compete at the National Skills competition, which will take place at the Plymouth Life Centre on 6th – 7th July.  In group E, William Heath gained the gold medal, Oscar Westbury the silver and Dylan Philpott the bronze and all qualified with a score in excess of 240 points.  Freya White took the gold medal for the girls.

Group D saw a total of 13 Plymouth divers qualify with a score of over 255 points and did not leave any podium positions free for any other clubs.  Lily Walker won the gold, Lexi Davies the silver and Eva Lang the bronze for the girls. The boys saw Jake Harrison-Bennetton win gold, Evan Walker the silver and Alex Whittaker the bronze.  The other divers to qualify were Rose McCabe, Erin Healey, Sophie Millmore, George Prior, Amelie Moor, Phoebie Pickering and Freddy Parnell.

Alex Snell grabbed the gold medal for the boys in group C.  The girls had a close fought category with only 3.45 points between the 1st and 4th position.  They engulfed the podium with Harlie Stringer bagging the gold, Tilly Tassart the silver, Ella-Poppy Cornish the bronze and Polly Evans in 4th position.  Madeleine Elliott and Ben Hall also qualified to take part in July with a score of over 270 points.

All of the young, up and coming divers are either coached by Tonia Couch, Fito Gutierrez, Ashley Hendrick or Ryan Wills.

May 11 2019


Date: May 11